And They’re Off!

Ok, I’m the one who’s off. Ask anyone who knows me! 🙂 I definitely have always been a couple bubbles off plumb my whole life. I could never quite understand what made the “normal” or “popular” people different from me, and why I couldn’t be like them. Feeling like you’re standing outside and looking in the window at everyone else, and never being able to find the door in pretty much describes a lot of my life up to this point.

Now though, I discovered people who share the same interests as me. Suddenly people are admiring my work and asking me how I do things. I feel like doing a Sally Field number, “You like me, You really like me!” heheheh

To get back to the topic of this post….

I did it. I finally did it. I cut out the bodice for my black silk, After ironing all 8 yards of it. Yuck! 😛 Actually,*whispering* I love to iron. I HATE ironing. I don’t want to press anything that needs ironed to wear. Matter of fact, I don’t buy clothes that will need ironed. However, trying to iron 8 yards of slippery silk is a bit of a pain.

But I did it and then came cutting it out. Again, a bit of a pain because it wanted to keep sliding off the table. I’ve started sewing it.

This gown like most of my gowns will be almost entirely hand sewn. I’ve gotten pretty fast at putting together a bodice by hand. It seems I do a much more accurate and detailed job by hand. My machine sewing leaves a lot to be desired.

The only thing I usually sew by machine are the seams in the skirt and attaching the hem facing on the skirt. Mostly because they are just long straight, boring seams. Everything else I do by hand.

Leave a Reply

