Please Just Hang in There, It Will Get Better.

 

Image

 

For the second time in less than a month, I am facing the funeral for a young man who killed himself.  My heart is breaking.  The young man was a friend of my son, in fact he thought of him as a little brother.  I watch his pain every day, and I cry when he’s not looking.  He blames himself for not seeing the signs.  I try to tell him that no one saw the signs.  My son has lived through the suicides of 2 friends, and the death of a friend in a motorcycle accident all in the space of one month.

*sigh* 

 

I keep reminding him that he is loved and to PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE talk to me, his dad, a friend, somebody, anybody if he feels he can’t handle the feelings anymore.

And I’m going to pass the same advice along to everyone reading this.  When you feel yourself being drawn down the dark path, please, please, please talk to someone.  Tell everyone you know what you’re feeling.  Call that help line or hotline, they will talk to you, keep it confident and help you from heading into the dark.  Email me, i’ll listen.

 

Try to remind yourself.  repeat over and over to yourself…This is just one stage in my life.  It will get better.  Try to find one thing today  that is pretty, funny, beautiful, serene,  Look at it notice the colors, see the beauty.  Everyday find someone or something to pay attention to.  Pet a dog.  Hug your mom. Watch little children fly kites.  Take a walk.   Keep hanging on until this all passes.  And it will pass, I promise.  It will get better.   I’ve been there.  I know what I am talking about.

It will get better.

It will get better.

It will get better.

I promise.

Leave a Reply

