Back In Black!

Well, it has been a long time since I’ve been here. What a period of time it has been. Besides the 2 funerals I mentioned, I’ve been “realigned” at work, my husband has been sequestered, my oldest had a reoccurrence of his Lyme”s Disease and my youngest has had heart surgery. AMONG other things. WHEW! Enough already! πŸ™‚

Needless to say I lost my creative lust for a while. But it is back with a vengeance.

I’ve gotten back to my black silk. I have been trying to find a little more of the purple brocade because I didn’t get enough the first time. I found some of the same color brocade with the same pattern only its larger. So that will work. I also scored some gorgeous pink striped silk for a ball gown. For $5 a yard!! Woot!

Ok, so I’m really good at shopping for stuff. Getting stuff sewn…not so much! Lol!

But now I’m back. I’ve done the cutting out of the black. Just a fitted bodice of very plain design. My thought is to make purple trim and to tack it on with BHS (Big Honking Stitches) to the bodice. That way if I want to, I can take the purple off and put on different trim. Just like the Original Class did. See! I’m so PC (period correct)! I am making a purple and black striped skirt like in my original fashion plate. I managed to have enough black silk left over to do another skirt in just plain black silk. Because everyone needs a LBD. Alright, so it’s more a Great big hooped black dress, but you get the idea! πŸ™‚

My bodice is lined in white cotton, because that’s what I had on hand. I’m saving the only piece of brown polished cotton I have to line the frock coat I’m doing for my husband. I know…another project. πŸ™‚ I’m only fitting the muslin for the frock coat right now. He has the spiffiest moose printed frock coat right now. You don’t know How tempted I am to just line his coat with the moose fabric. heheh NOT PC I know.

Back to my silk. (Can you tell I get distracted by shiny objects real easily?) I have the silk cut, lined,darted, and I’m putting the piping in right now. This has to be the tiniest piping I’ve ever done. I have been trying to improve my skills every time I do a new project. This time I’m working on smaller stitches and smaller piping. I made this piping over baby weight yarn, so it’s very tiny. I cut bias black silk (not as wide as I should have. I need to remember to cut my bias strips at least 1 1/2″ wide.) I’ve done the neckline, waist and one armsythce. The other arm is pinned but not sewn.

The next step is the sleeves. I’ve cut out an oversized, two-part coat sleeve. I want to do some shirring at the top of the sleeve near the shoulder. I’m thinking doing some real fancy cuffs trimmed in purple to go with them.

Leave a Reply

